Blog Blog 8: Culminating Blog!

Overall, this class has greatly improved my knowledge of space and the solar system.  I learned some useful (and fun) skills such as finding the north star, and the increased perspective I now have on both the solar system and the universe will be invaluable as we explore and travel more into space. I have learned the importance of being well informed about topics in space, as they often have parallels to things happening here on the Earth. I remember reading the first article by Neil Degrasse Tyson at the beginning of the textbook, talking about the importance of looking into space. He says: “The cosmic perspective enables us to grasp, in the same thought, the large and the small.” The importance of this class goes beyond the coolness of looking at Jupiter’s moons through a telescope or learning about Pluto, it’s about putting our world into perspective, and to that end, this class has accomplished this goal. Next semester, I am taking astrophysics to close out my physics minor. I am eager to learn more about our universe.

Picture of Earth from Saturn. Source: European Space Agency


One response to “Blog Blog 8: Culminating Blog!”

  1. Jonas,

    I wholeheartedly agree with your analysis of the class. I also appreciated deepening my understanding of celestial phenomena, particularly the phases of the moon and their significance in marking different times of the day. This knowledge not only enriches our grasp of the universe but also ties back to everyday experiences, enhancing our appreciation of the world around us.

    Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started